Research Advisory Network (RAN)

NCNE’s Research Advisory Network is a selective group of scholars and professional analysts with expertise in the economics and management of nonprofit organizations and other social enterprises, in the United States and worldwide. The Network serves as a talent pool and knowledge resource for NCNE’s programming on behalf of nonprofit organizations, which may include professional and research conferences, education and training programs, organizational consultations, information and referral services, and research projects.

Members of the Network are selected and appointed by the leadership of NCNE based on their special expertise on diverse topics related to effective resource-related decision making by nonprofit organizations. Members serve on a voluntary basis but may be reimbursed for costs and compensated for their work at modest levels for specific tasks they undertake on behalf of NCNE.

Members are listed on NCNE’s website, social media, publications, brochures and other documents. Members contribute to NCNE’s knowledge base by posting relevant publications on NCNE’s website. Members of the network are also asked to advise NCNE leadership on future programming and important issues related to NCNE’s mission.

  • Salvatore Alaimo,
    Grand Valley State University
  • James Alm,
    Tulane University
  • Fredrik Andersson,
    Paul H. O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs
  • Shena Ashley,
    Urban Institute
  • Rikki Abzug,
    Ramapo College
  • Neil Bania,
    University of Oregon
  • Erynn Beaton,
    John Glenn College of Public Affairs,
    The Ohio State University
  • Avner Ben Ner,
    University of Minnesota
  • Eleanor Brown,
    Pomona College
  • Herrington J. Bryce,
    College of William and Mary
  • Thad Calabrese,
    New York University
  • Alex Campbell
    Schneider Smeltz Spieth Bell LLP
  • Cyril Chang,
    University of Memphis
  • Grace L. Chikoto-Schultz,
    Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
  • Joe Cordes,
    George Washington University
  • Rosemarie Emanuele,
    Ursuline College
  • University of Colorado, Denver
  • Lewis Faulk,
    American University
  • Rob Fischer,
    Case Western Reserve University
  • Martin Grace,
    Temple University
  • Charles (Mel) Gray,
    University of St. Thomas
  • Mark Hager,
    Arizona State University
  • Fermida Handy,
    University of Pennsylvania
  • Teresa Harrison,
    Drexel University
  • Patricia Hughes,
    St. Cloud State University
  • Doug Irkhe,
    University of Wisconsin Milwaukee
  • Renee Irvin,
    University of Oregon
  • Kristina Jaskyte Bahr,
    University of Georgia
  • Kevin Kearns,
    University of Pittsburgh
  • Janelle Bassett Kerlin,
    Georgia State University
  • Jack Krauskopf,
    Center for Nonprofit Strategy & Management
  • Roland Kushner,
    Muhlenberg College
  • Marcus Lam,
    School of Leadership and Education Sciences,
    University of San Diego
  • Jesse Lecy,
    Arizona State University
  • Laura Leete,
    University of Oregon
  • William Luksetich,
    St. Cloud University
  • Stuart Mendel,
  • George E. Mitchell,
    Marxe School of Public and International Affairs
  • Laurie Mook,
    Arizona State University
  • John O’Kane,
    Georgia State University
  • Laurie Paarlberg,
    IU Lilly Family School of Philanthropy


  • Anne Preston,
    Haverford College
  • Michael Price,
    University of Alabama
  • Patrick Rooney,
    IU Lilly Family School of Philanthropy
  • Bruce Seaman,
    Georgia State University
  • Elizabeth Searing,
    University of Texas at Dallas
  • Walter Simmons,
    John Carroll University
  • Dave Sjoquist,
    Georgia State University
  • Margaret Sloan,
    James Madison University
  • Al Slivinsky,
    University of Western Ontario
  • Richard Steinberg,
    Indiana University
  • Rayna Stoycheva,
    University of Miami
  • Jeremy Thornton,
    Samford University
  • Daniel Tinkelman,
    City University of New York
  • Stefan Toepler,
    George Mason University
  • William Lee Waugh, Jr.
    Journal of Emergency Management
  • Jeff Williams
    Grand Valley State University
  • Amanda Wilsker,
    Georgia Gwinnett College
  • Gregory R. Witkowski,
    Columbia University, National Center on Disaster Preparedness
  • Dennis R. Young,
    Georgia State University, Emeritus Professor
    Distinguished Visiting Professor, Mandel School, Case Western Reserve University